About the Travel Scholarship

In 2017 the VALA Travel Scholarship was replaced with the VALA Diversity Scholarship. The general principle of this new award is to encourage and enable attendance at an event by people who are not normally well-represented at that event and/or in the industry, due to disadvantage of one kind or another.

VALA – Libraries, Technology and the Future Inc. has awarded biennial scholarships for individuals to undertake international travel to explore developments in the application of information technology in libraries and information services. The scholarship was awarded to members of the library and information community to assist in meeting expenses for travel overseas.

Successful candidates were invited to present at the VALA Biennial Conference in Melbourne.

VALA Travel Scholarships

Previous Winners

  • 2014 Ingrid Mason – Intersect Australia, NSW
  • 2012 Warren Cheetham – City Libraries Townsville
  • 2010 Tristan Badham – RMIT University
  • 2008 Kathryn Greenhill – Murdoch University
  • 2006 Ellen Forsyth – State Library of New South Wales
  • 2004 Anna Raunik – State Library of Queensland
  • 2002 Terena Solomons – Hollywood Private Hospital, WA and Stephen O’Brien – Hunter Institute of TAFE NSW
  • 2000 Amanda Magnussen – IP Australia Library, ACT and Phillipa Webb – Northern Territory Library and Information Service
  • 1998 Vincent Galante – La Trobe University, Vic and Lesley Carman Brown – Curtin University, WA
  • 1996 Andrew Treloar (Vic) and David Wells (WA)
  • 1994 Terry Foster (NT) and Bob Pymm (ACT)
  • 1992 Craig Anderson (Vic) and Jennifer Durran (Vic)
  • 1990 Joanna Richardson (Qld) and June Anderson (Vic)

Click here for further details about VALA Travel Scholarship recipients. Travel Scholarship papers that are presented at the VALA Biennial Conference are identified on the VALA web site with the VALA Travel Scholar icon.