VALA Committee Members 2021-2022

The VALA Committee provides governance, policy and strategic direction for the Association and is made up of a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and up to 6 general committee members.

Executive | General Committee | VALA Secretariat


President – Melissa Parent
State Library Victoria

Bio: Melissa is Metadata Coordinator at the State Library Victoria. Melissa takes a keen interest in library data and systems (particularly next-generation library systems) and is a member of the Australian Committee on Cataloguing. She also currently holds the role of Australian representative on the Dewey Decimal Editorial Policy Committee.

Vice-President – Sae Ra Germaine

Bio: Sae Ra is the Manager of Member Services and Digital Platforms for CAVAL and has over 15 years working with high profile systems companies from a diverse range of fields including IBM and Federation University. Sae Ra is an all things open, tech evangelist with a focus on leveraging user experiences and open standards as a driver for innovation and change. She is an active advocate of free and open source initiatives and is currently the President of the Linux Australia board and Vice-Chair of Internet Australia. Sae Ra is also on the Technical and General Advisory Standing committees for auDA (.au Domain Administration).

Secretary – Michelle McLean
Casey Cardinia Libraries

Bio: Michelle is passionate about library services and the online world, two things she has combined well with her role as Information Services Coordinator at Casey Cardinia Libraries. She is a past-recipient of a Ramsay Reid Scholarship (State Library of Victoria), alumni of the Aurora Institute, is a published author and has presented at many conferences and seminars around Australia, as well as in the US. Michelle holds a Bachelor of Arts (Librarianship) and a Master of Business (Information Technology).

Treasurer – Andrew Iacuone
La Trobe University Library

Bio: Andrew is the Senior Manager, Library Business Services at the La Trobe University Library and has over 25 years’ experience in the university and not for profit sectors. Andrew’s experience in infrastructure and project planning, finance, resources and HR management together with strategic and business planning led him to the library world five years ago. His interests are in delivering an outstanding digital and place based library environment to the student cohorts within a challenging and changing academic library space. His achievements include the development of Digital Learning Labs across all five Library campuses and the new La Trobe Library, Bendigo Campus received a Commendation at the 2021 Australian Interior Design Awards.



General Committee

Mary Filsell
Flinders University

Bio: Research librarian & futurist focused on providing academic library research services for researchers, staff, masters by research and PHD students at Flinders University, South Australia. Personal research interests include: The Carpentries, Open Access Research & Data, FAIR, AI, XR, TDM, GLAMR, DH, UI, UX, CX.

Megan Lee
Supreme Court Library and Law Library of Victoria

Bio: Megan has worked as a systems manager in special, academic, and public libraries.  She has led Library system implementations at Monash University (ExLibris) and in public libraires (SirsiDynix and Spydus), has been Chair of the ANZREG Committee (Australian and New Zealand Regional ExLibris Group) and a long-time member of the Alma Product Working Group Committee. She is continually amazed by how creatively Librarian use technology, and excited to be working in libraries when technology is becoming so integral to everything we do.  Her current interests include analytics and the use of big data and data visualisation to drive business intelligence.

Alan Manifold
State Library Victoria

Bio: Alan has been in the Library Automation field for more than 30 years. He helped develop an ILMS (PLUS at Purdue University), was part of the Technical Advisory Committee for another (Team NOTIS), and was president of the International Users Group for another (Voyager Users Group), then managed North American support for Voyager, Aleph, and Primo at Ex Libris. He and his wife moved to Australia in 2012, and Alan was awarded a Distinguished Talent visa in Library Automation by the Australian government in 2016. Alan is the Library Systems and Digital Preservation Manager at the State Library of Victoria.

Amy Miniter

Bio: Amy is a Data Librarian on the Research Data Support Team at CSIRO and is concurrently working to complete an undergraduate in Computer Science at RMIT. She has a background in languages and customer service, cumulative experiences that have left her with the reading age of a French teenager and the wonderful ability to read young adult science fiction novels in another language. She is also occupied as a collections volunteer at the Royal Historical Society of Victoria.

Michael Tully

Bio: Michael has a Masters of Business Administration from Victoria University and more than 20 years in leadership positions including editorial, product development, sales and marketing roles. For the past 10 years, he has worked closely with numerous executive customers and partners in medicine and education in hospital and university settings across Australia, New Zealand, Asia and the United States.


Monica Williams
Star of the Sea, Brighton

Bio: Monica is a freelance consultant and the Digital Literacy Specialist at Star of the Sea College, Brighton. Monica has a passion for e-learning and technology. Monica has over 10 years experience working as a Multimedia Technician within the corporate and education sectors. She also works as an IT consultant for the School Library Association of Victoria.


VALA Secretariat

VALA Secretariat - Lesley, Fiona & KimExecutive Officer - Lesley Ryall
Fiona Folley
Portfolios: Accounts
Kim Humphris
Portfolios: Membership, events, website

L to R: Lesley Ryall, Fiona Folley, Kim Humphris