About the Student Awards


Each year, the VALA Student Award is presented to one student from RMIT University and one from Monash University, in recognition of outstanding achievement in postgraduate information-technology-related courses.  VALA Student Awards will be announced and presented at VALA’s end-of-year Guest Speaker Event.

The Award winners receive:

  • a cheque for $500
  • two years free membership of VALA
  • free registration for the VALA2018 Conference.

We would like to thank the staff at RMIT and Monash Universities for working with us on these awards.

The VALA web site provides details on our Student Award Recipients.


Congratulations to the 2016 Student Award winners – Steven Graham from Monash University and Kate Monypenny from RMIT University

2016 Student Award12016 Student Award2