About VALA’s Awards

Williamson MedallionTo help fulfil its aims VALA grants the following awards:

  • The Robert D. Williamson Award – Awarded biennially to an individual or organisation who, in the opinion of the judging panel, is currently making an outstanding contribution to the development of information technology usage in Australian libraries and is positively and significantly influencing development in information technology usage within libraries.
  • The VALA Award – made biennially, is presented to the Australian library or information centre judged to have made the most innovative use of information technology during the previous two years.
  • The VALA Diversity Scholarship is offered to individuals who in normal circumstances would not generally attend a VALA event or would struggle to attend due to financial or other hardship.  New in 2017, this award has replaced the VALA Travel Scholarship and is offered specifically for either VALA Tech Camp or the VALA Conference.


Award Winners 2018/2019

The 2018 Robert D. Williamson Award recipient is:

  • Rose Holley from University of New South Wales, Canberra

The 2018 VALA Award recipient is:

  • The State Library of Queensland for its Tunley Braille Globe project

The VALA Tech Camp 2019 Diversity Scholarship sponsored by Linux Australia, recipient is:

  • Corinna Baerhold, Isaac Regional Libraries